The Occupied by Craig Parshall Review

op

Synopsis: As a youth, Trevor Black unleashed spiritual forces he couldn’t comprehend. Years later, Trevor is a high-flying criminal defense lawyer in New York City, with a six-figure Aston Martin and a trophy wife. But in an extraordinary turn of events, he receives a burdensome gift: the ability to perceive the invisible. And the dark forces he now sees are all gunning for him.

When one of Trevor’s hometown friends is murdered, the MO is eerily similar to a shocking trail of murders that have already crossed the lawyer’s path. So Trevor must return home to find the killer. . . and face not only his own personal demons, but supernatural ones as well.

My Thoughts: This book provides a great picture of spiritual warfare, which is something that I believe is a very real and powerful thing. In it you follow Trevor, who has the ability to see dark forces (which he calls the horribles) as well as the light forces that battle against them. I have often wondered what it would be like if the veil was lifted and we were able to see the invisible forces…I’ve always imagined that it would be terrifying to see the hidden world around us. This book confirmed my assumptions that seeing this world would be very scary.

This story took me a good 100 pages to get interested.I felt that it dragged a bit at first and the pacing was a bit disjointed. It also took me a while to get used to the writing style. There were a lot of characters and sometimes I had a bit of trouble keeping track of who was who.

I loved the concept of the story and found myself thinking about it often after reading it. I also liked Joel’s character. He became a born again Christian in the book and his development was great throughout the book. I also liked the prevalence of Christianity and theology throughout the story. For this type of story, it was very necessary to add the Biblical truths attached to spiritual warfare, which the author did well.

There were several twists and turns that I didn’t expect and the ending was done very well. Overall, this was a great story that I enjoyed very much. I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for the slow start and the uneven pacing.

My Rating: 4 stars

I received this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

