The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis Review

twr

Synopsis: ELKA BARELY REMEMBERS a time before she knew Trapper. She was just seven years old, wandering lost and hungry in the wilderness, when the solitary hunter took her in. In the years since then, he’s taught her how to survive in this desolate land where civilization has been destroyed and men are at the mercy of the elements and each other.
But the man Elka thought she knew has been harboring a terrible secret. He’s a killer. A monster. And now that Elka knows the truth, she may be his next victim.
Armed with nothing but her knife and the hard lessons Trapper’s drilled into her, Elka flees into the frozen north in search of her real parents. But judging by the trail of blood dogging her footsteps, she hasn’t left Trapper behind–and he won’t be letting his little girl go without a fight. If she’s going to survive, Elka will have to turn and confront not just him, but the truth about the dark road she’s been set on.
The Wolf Road is an intimate cat-and-mouse tale of revenge and redemption, played out against a vast, unforgiving landscape–told by an indomitable young heroine fighting to escape her past and rejoin humanity.

My Thoughts: This book took me much longer to read than most…it never really grabbed me. The plot sounded interesting, a girl living in a  post-apocalyptic world who is searching for her parents after discovering the man she thought of as her father was a murderer.

Unfortunately, I never got into the story. I found the main character Elka to be very unlikable and the pacing to be very slow. There were a lot of scenes with Elka in the woods alone with very little action.

I came to the conclusion that my main problem with this book is that it is a character-driven story and I prefer plot-driven stories. I can understand why many people who appreciate rich characters would love this story as Elka, although unlikable, is very developed and “real”.

The only thing I found interesting was the ending, although I had guessed the twist, but it was very clever.

If I hadn’t received this book for review, I would have DNF’d it but I always read review books to the end in order to give a full and honest review.

My Rating: 1.5 stars

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

