Open by David Gregory Review

open

Synopsis: It wasn’t the end of the world. It was just the end of Emma Jameson’s world. Fresh off the heels of a devastating breakup and floundering in her career, Emma is struggling to come to grips with why God allows so much pain in our lives, why He seems so absent when she needs Him most, and why the Gospel accounts–our supposed guide for how to lead a contented Christian life–feel so completely irrelevant.

Then one day, a mysterious envelope arrives in Emma’s mailbox with the word Open written on the outside. Inside the envelope is a card bearing the following message: “For a real adventure with Jesus, go through the nearest open door.”

Skeptical, but having absolutely nothing to lose, Emma steps through the pantry door, only to find herself instantly transported back to the first century, where she is taken on a personal tour of various Gospel accounts by none other than Jesus himself–an experience that radically challenges Emma’s perception of the Gospels and what it really means to be a Christian.

My Thoughts: This book was very unique. It almost reminded me of visiting Narnia when Emma stepped through the pantry door and ended up in the New Testament.

Through her adventures in the first century, Jesus teaches Emma lessons about how to remain in him and to be a Christian. Emma also witnesses some key events from the Bible (Jesus walking on water, Mary anointing him with oil, the last supper) and Jesus explains things along the way.

The story was interesting and a fun adventure. I was a bit disappointed in Emma’s reaction to Jesus…if I walked through a door and ended up in the first century, face to face with Jesus, I think I would be astounded and amazed. Emma’s acceptance of the situation seemed a bit too quick and she didn’t seem fazed by being in the presence of the Savior of the world. To be honest, I wasn’t too fond of Emma as a character. Something about her made it hard for me to connect with her.

I loved Jesus in the book. He was how I picture him to be…patient and kind with a sense of humor. The scenes with him teaching Emma were my favorite.

Overall, the message of the story was very good. I gleaned some good information from the teachings about trust, forgiveness, and abiding in Christ. I would recommend this book to any Christian who want to go on an adventure with Jesus.

My Rating: 3 stars

I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

