When Death Draws Near by Carrie Stuart Parks Review

ddn

Synopsis: Forensic artist Gwen Marcey is between jobs when she accepts temporary work in Pikeville, Kentucky—a small town facing big-city crime. But before Gwen can finish her first drawing of the serial rapist who is on the loose, the latest witness vanishes. Just like all the others.

Gwen suspects a connection between the rapist and the “accidental” deaths that are happening around town, but the local sheriff has little interest in her theories. When her digitally-obsessed teenage daughter joins her, Gwen turns her attention to a second assignment: going undercover in a sepent-handling church. She could get a handsome reward for uncovering illegal activity-a reward she desperately needs, as it seems her breast cancer has returned. But snakes aren’t the only ones ready to kill. Can Gwen uncover the truth-and convince anyone to believe her-before she becomes a victim herself?

My Thoughts: This book provided some very interesting insight into some unusual practices involving snakes in church. I had never heard of this practice and was fascinated and kind of horrified to read about this. I despise snakes, they are my least favorite animal and the thought of them makes me cringe, so this book was difficult to read at parts. There are many scenes that are gruesome and creepy but also kept me on the edge of my seat.

Throughout the book you are with Gwen, a forensic artist, who was called in to help with finding a serial rapist. When she arrives, she is rebuffed by the sheriff and begins to receive threats. She then is presented with an opportunity to look into a mystery involving a church that uses snakes and drinks poisons as well as refuse medical treatment.

There was a lot going on in the book and it became a bit confusing at times. I did find the story to be very unique and liked the main characters profession…as a forensic artist (which the author also is), Gwen is skilled at interview skills as well as knowing when people are lying.

When I finished the book, I still felt like some things were left open…a few things didn’t seem to be addressed to the point that I expected them to.

I didn’t expect the culprit at all! I loved this part of the story, it was very clever and unexpected but also a little bit far fetched.

I requested this without realizing that it is the 3rd book in a series but it still can be read as a standalone as the author explains some of the characters’ backstories.

Overall, this was an enjoyable Christian mystery.

My Rating:

3 stars

I received this book from Booklook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

