The After House by Michael Phillip Cash Review


after house

Goodreads Synopsis: Remy Galway and her daughter Olivia are rebuilding their life after a failed marriage in a 300 year old cottage in historic Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island. Little do they know, another occupant is lurking in the haven of their own home. Will the After House be their shelter or their tomb?

My Thoughts: I requested this book because of the cover…it is one of my favorite book covers of all time. Based on the cover and synopsis, I expected a very creepy ghost story, but the story was a lot different than what I thought it would be. The story is not very scary and crosses many genres…paranormal, romance, historical.

I loved the setting of the story…it takes place on Long Island in a very old cottage that is inhabited by an old sea captain. I also  liked the writing style, it was very easy to fall into and adapt to. The story was unique and unlike anything I’d read before.

My main issue with this book was the romance…I despise insta-love, especially in an adult book. The romance in this book was ridiculously fast paced and immature (I tend to give some leeway to YA insta-love as the characters are teenagers).

Overall, this was an enjoyable book when taken for what it is. I do think people would be disappointed if they go into it expecting a scary horror story.

My Rating: 3 stars

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

