The Mother Letters by Amber C. Haines and Seth Haines

ml

Goodreads Description: After his wife Amber had given birth to three boys in three years, Seth Haines saw that she needed encouragement in the day-to-day drama and details of motherhood. Secretly collecting nearly six hundred wise, honest, and sometimes hilarious letters from other mothers across the world, Seth compiled these “mother letters” as a gift for her. Amber and Seth have chosen the best of those letters–including letters from some of the most influential writers and bloggers online today–to include in a beautiful book perfect for the mother in your life.
Each mother-to-mother letter offers encouragement, advice, and vulnerable honesty about the struggles and joys of motherhood. These letters show that no matter how many times mothers feel like they’ve failed, they are still doing their greatest work. So for the mom who thinks she’s the only one out there who just can’t find time for a shower, “Mother Letters” shows her that she’s part of a grand and diverse group of strong women who are saying to her, “Me too. But we can do this.”

My Thoughts: This would be the perfect gift for a new mother. The book is full of letters to mothers from mothers. The letters provide encouragement and advice for things that mothers will face.

I am a mother to a soon to be 10 year old and a soon to be 13 year old (a teenager!) so I was excited to pick this up and glean some inspiration from it.

The letters are great (some better than others) but, for the most part, tend to be directed towards new mothers and mothers of young children. I can’t say that I walked away from this book with no new insight, but I didn’t feel as connected to it as I wanted. There were about 5 letters in this book that really inspired me and made me feel better about my performance as a mother, but the rest of them, although very special, would have had much more of an impact on me 10 years ago. This is of no fault of the book or the contributors, I just feel that I’m not exactly the intended audience for this particular book.

I would definitely consider giving this book to a new mom as a gift, it’s packed with very important statements that can’t be found on the secular shelves of the bookstore.

My Rating: 3 stars

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

