The Feathered Bone by Julie Cantrell

fb

Plot According to Goodreads: In the pre-Katrina glow of New Orleans, Amanda Salassi is anxious about chaperoning her daughter’s sixth grade field trip to the Big Easy during Halloween. And then her worst fears come true. Her daughter’s best friend, Sarah, disappears amid the magic and revelry—gone, without a trace.

Unable to cope with her guilt, Amanda’s daughter sinks in depression. And Amanda’s husband turns destructive as he watches his family succumb to grief. Before long, Amanda’s whole world has collapsed.

Amanda knows she has to save herself before it’s too late. As she continues to search for Sarah, she embarks on a personal journey, seeking hope and purpose in the wake of so much tragedy and loss.

My Thoughts: I generally am not the type of person who cries when reading a book. It’s rare for me to feel a deep connection with a character, so deep that I have a physical response to what they are experiencing. This book caused me to gasp, cry, and feel sickness in my stomach.

The story is a beautiful, gritty tale of tragedy, grief, and hope. It follows Amanda, who loses track of her 12 year old daughter’s friend while chaperoning a field trip in pre-Katrina New Orleans. It is not an easy or entertaining book to read…there are many things that are difficult to swallow, especially when considering that these are things that actually occur in the world today. My heart broke for most of the characters and raged against one of them. I wanted to reach through the pages and hug these people who were facing so much anguish. (Again, this is extremely rare for me).

If ever there were  a thought-provoking book, this is it. It will stick with me for years. Hope is sprinkled throughout the book and the grittier parts are implied or referred to in a way that allows the reader to understand what’s occurring without reading graphic details. I was very thankful for this…I have read books in the past about abductions and was often turned off by the graphic descriptions as they didn’t add to the story, in my opinion.

I flew through this story as I needed to know how it would end, I recommend this to anyone who’s up for a good cry.

My Rating: 5 stars

I received this book from Booklookbloggers and the publisher in exchange for an honest reveiw.

Leave a Reply

