Brave Girls Beautiful You by Jennifer Gerelds Review

bg

Goodreads Synopsis: Whether you are outgoing or shy, a tomboy or a girly girl, silly or serious, it can be really hard to feel comfortable with yourself. This devotional is filled with stories and thoughts about how God created us to be healthy, strong, and confident—both with our bodies and our minds—because we are daughters of the great heavenly Father.

My Thoughts: I’ve been on the lookout for a good devotional for my 9 year old daughter…something that would be age appropriate and enjoyable for her to read. When I was about 9 or 10, I had a devotional (Angel in My Attic by Mary Lou Carney) that made a very big impact on me and was something I looked forward to reading daily. This book seems to have a similar impact on my daughter.

It features 90 days of devotions that are interactive in nature. They ask questions with multiple choice answers that cause the reader to reflect on the subject. Each day begins with a Bible verse, which is followed by a story and ends with a prayer. The devotionals are 1-2 pages long and focus on relevant subjects for pre-teen girls such as inner beauty, forgiveness, trusting God, and serving others. My daughter liked that the days are not dated so they can be started at any time of the year.

I was very pleased with this devotional, it is age appropriate but is also filled with important Biblical truths. This would be a great devotional for any girl between the ages of 8 and 12.

My Rating: 5 stars

I received this book from Booklook Bloggers and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

