Annabel Lee by Mike Nappa Review

al

Plot According to Goodreads: Fourteen miles east of Peachtree, Alabama, a secret is hidden. That secret’s name is Annabel Lee Truckson, and even she doesn’t know why her mysterious uncle has stowed her deep underground in a military-style bunker. He’s left her with a few German words, a barely-controlled guard dog, and a single command: “Don’t open that door for anybody, you got it? Not even me.”

Above ground, a former Army sniper called The Mute and an enigmatic “Dr. Smith” know about the girl. As the race begins to find her, the tension builds. Who wants to set her free? Why does the other want to keep her captive forever? Who will reach her first?

Private investigators Trudi Coffey and Samuel Hill need to piece together the clues and stay alive long enough to retrieve the girl–before it’s too late.

My Thoughts: I was thrilled to receive this book. As soon as I saw the cover, I knew it was something I wanted to read…I love everything about the cover: the font, the title, and the creepy tunnel. I expected a creepy story with some thrills. Unfortunately, it wasn’t what I expected but I still enjoyed it. The story was more of a crime fiction story then a horror or thriller.

The story has a lot of mystery. For most of the book, the reader doesn’t really know why certain things are happening and what is really going on. I was also unsure who was a “good guy” and who was a “bad guy” at first.  By the end, things are clearer, but I was still left with a few questions and felt that some parts of the plot were left unresolved. This is the first book in a series so I’m assuming that as the story continues, things will be explained.

I loved Annabel’s character, a very intelligent 11 year old girl, she was a great protagonist. The investigators, Coffey and Hill were also likable and will be fun to follow throughout the series.

Something about the pacing felt a bit off. I never felt like I couldn’t put the book down and it took me a while to get through. There were a few times when I felt bored with the plot.

The book is classified as Christian fiction, and although the author touches on Christianity, it doesn’t feel forced or preachy.

I am happy to have read Annabel Lee, but it wasn’t the amazing book that I hoped for.

My Rating: 3 stars

I received this book from Baker Publishing in exchange of an honest review.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

