The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lupton Review

qualtiy

Plot According to GoodreadsOn 24th November Yasmin and her deaf daughter Ruby arrived in Alaska.

Within hours they were driving alone across a frozen wilderness
Where nothing grows
Where no one lives
Where tears freeze
And night will last for another 54 days.

They are looking for Ruby’s father.
Traveling deeper into a silent land.
They still cannot find him.

And someone is watching them in the dark.

My Thoughts: With the temperature here in Pennsylvania averaging around 5 degrees the past few days, I thought it would be appropriate to pick up a wintry read. This really fit the bill. This book is very atmospheric, you feel as if you are riding in the truck with Yasmin and Ruby across the icy roads of bitter cold Alaska. I flew through the book as the pacing was perfect. The suspense builds slowly and, although not extremely surprising, it had a satisfying ending.

The setting was perfect and caused me to Google the places in the book, which led me to watch some episodes of Ice Road Truckers, as it features some of the places described in the book (the Dalton Highway, Coldfoot, and Deadhorse).

My main issue was the main character, Yasmin. As a mother, I was appalled at the danger she put her daughter in, even with the warnings of many people. There were several times that I was extremely frustrated with the choices that she made. I also felt that the author allowed her personal beliefs in regards to a certain issue to seep into the book a bit too much for my taste.

I definitely recommend this story to anyone who loves suspense and is in the mood for a chilly read.

My rating: 4.5 stars

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

