Waiting for Morning by Karen Kingsbury Review

kkPlot According to Goodreads: As Hannah Ryan waits for her family to return home from a camping trip, she realizes she has everything going for her—a husband other women admire, two charming teenage daughters, and a loving Christian home. As the sunny afternoon turns into twilight, her uneasiness grows along with the shadows. Then a car pulls into Hannah’s driveway, bringing two police officers…and devastating news that shatters her life forever.

My Thoughts: This book made me experience so many emotions but none of them were positive. It started with sadness, and then the frustration took over, mixed with a good dose of anger. The story is about Hannah, who’s life is completely changed in a day. Hannah, understandably, is devastated, and goes through all of the stages of grief. My issue with this book was with Hannah, as she was blind to some of the serious issues in front of her because of her obsession with getting justice and what seemed like revenge. The story seemed to be a realistic portrayal of someone who’s life has fallen apart but I still found it very frustrating. The ending, which seemed a bit rushed, was extremely predictable and didn’t bring me the satisfaction that I expected. I was still left with feelings of frustration and sadness.

As a disclaimer, I would like to state that I tend to avoid “sad” books because I read for pleasure, and they aren’t something I enjoy. This book, based on what was presented, was very well done and the writing was great. It just isn’t a book that I would normally gravitate to.

My rating: Because of the writing and the overall message, I gave this book 4/5 stars.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

