The Shore by Sara Taylor Review

shoreGenre: Adult Fiction, Literary Fiction

Plot According to Goodreads: Welcome to The Shore: a collection of small islands sticking out from the coast of Virginia into the Atlantic Ocean. Where clumps of evergreens meet wild ponies, oyster-shell roads, tumble-down houses, unwanted pregnancies, murder, storm-making and dark magic in the marshes. . .

My Thoughts: This is a collection of short stories that span many years and focus on a family with many issues. The book jumps back and forth through many time periods and all of the stories take place on the islands off of the coast of Virginia. The stories are connected to each other but the book didn’t seem to flow well to me. I am generally not a fan of short story collections because I don’t feel like I have enough time to get acquainted to the story but when I was 10 years old, my family vacationed on Chincoteague island so I was interested to read this one. I also thought that because the stories were connected, that it would feel like a complete story. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. All of the stories are sad and depressing, there is very little joy to be found and by the middle of the book, I was in need of something uplifting.

I think this was a case of “it’s not you, it’s me”…this was not the book for me. As I said above, I am not a fan of short stories so I should have known better.  I did like a few of the stories…there were some surprising moments that I didn’t expect (it opens up with a bang) and the book is very well written. It was interesting to study the family tree (which was very helpful) to see where the characters fit in the family when reading a new story but it could also be confusing at times. I felt a connection to a few of the characters but for the most part, I felt disconnected from them…there were A LOT of characters which is also something I don’t really like when reading a book.

Overall, I liked this book but I didn’t love it.  I think people who enjoy short story collections would appreciate it.

My Rating: 3/5 stars

Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

