Hyacinth Girls by Lauren Frankel Review

hyacinthGenre: Adult Fiction, Contemporary

Plot According to Goodreads: Thirteen year old Callie is accused of bullying at school, but Rebecca knows the gentle girl she’s raised must be innocent. After Callie is exonerated, she begins to receive threatening notes from the girl who accused her, and as these notes become desperate, Rebecca feels compelled to intervene. As she tries to save this unbalanced girl, Rebecca remembers her own intense betrayals and best-friendships as a teenager, when her failure to understand those closest to her led to tragedy. She’ll do anything to make this story end differently. But Rebecca doesn’t understand what’s happening or who is truly a victim, and now Callie is in terrible danger.

My Thoughts: This book took me through a gamut of emotions…frustration, sadness, and anger. It reads like an adult fiction story but it would be beneficial for both parents and teenagers to read. The story focuses on the hot topic issue of bullying and addresses it from many perspectives. It reminded me in many ways of 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher but, in my opinion, this book was much better in how it addressed the issues.

What I Liked: Although very clueless most of the time, I really liked and related to Rebecca. She wanted what was best for Callie and would stop at nothing to get it.  Callie frustrated and angered me in many ways but when a character can evoke strong feelings from me, I consider the author to be good at what he or she does. The story had great pacing, there were no moments when I felt like it was dragging.

What I didn’t Like: The ending left me feeling unfulfilled, things wrapped up but there were a few loose ends. There were a few moments that were a bit unrealistic.

My Rating: 4/5 stars. Definitely recommended for teenagers as well as parents of teenagers…worth the read!

Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

