Velocity by Dean Koontz Review

velocityGenre: Adult Fiction, Thriller, Suspense

Plot According to Goodreads: Bill Wile is an easygoing, hardworking guy who leads a quiet, ordinary life. But that is about to change. One evening, after his usual eight-hour bartending shift, he finds a typewritten note under the windshield wiper of his car. If you don’t take this note to the police and get them involved, I will kill a lovely blond schoolteacher. If you do take this note to the police, I will instead kill an elderly woman active in charity work. You have four hours to decide. The choice is yours.

My Thoughts: I read a lot of Dean Koontz books in my teenage years. His writing style is very easy to adapt to and the stories are usually fast paced and fun. I have found that his books can be hit or miss…I loved some and couldn’t finish others. Velocity ranks as one of my favorites by Koontz.

The Good: The author wastes no time in getting the story started. The reader is emerged in the action and adventure from the first chapter. The game of cat and mouse that is played between Billy and the unknown killer was a lot of fun and caused me to question what I would do in that situation. There were several twists that kept the story surprising and fresh. The book has many short chapters, which I prefer over few long chapters…it was a very quick read.

What I didn’t Like: Towards the end of the book, things became a bit monotonous and slightly predictable.

My Rating: 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

