Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas Review

dgGenre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery

Judging the Cover: The cover pictured is the edition of the book that I own. I love the color combinations but I prefer the original cover of the book, which features a pair of handcuffs buried in the sand…that image goes better with the story.

Plot According to Goodreads: It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.
As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.
As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

My Thoughts: I had only heard positive things about this book so my expectations were high. I was not disappointed. This book was easily one of my favorites of the year, possibly even number one of all the books I’ve read in 2015. The young adult thriller genre seems to be a bit lacking, but I am hoping that we will see more books like this in the future. This book has not received the attention it deserves, so if the synopsis sounds interesting to you and you are a fan of mystery, pick this one up!

The Good:

  • The book opens with a bang…it begins with the 911 call transcripts from when the group of friends discover their friend’s body. I was glued to the book from the first page.
  • This story jumps around to many different time periods throughout the book. For the most part, I dislike the jumping from past to present, at least in the format of a continuous story in the past and a continuous story in the present (leaving the reader with constant cliffhangers). This book jumped to many places in time in a way that made sense and did not leave me feeling confused or frustrated with the changes in time. It is done very well.
  • There are several twists and turns, which I love as a reader. I had an inkling of one of the bigger twists but still found myself surprised when reading it.
  • The ending is done in a very clever way that leads the reader to use their imagination instead of spelling everything out. Some people would probably hate this, but I love pondering over the possibilities.
  • There are a plethora of suspects in the story so the reader is constantly trying to solve the case. My final guess was not correct but I had fun trying to figure it out.
  • It was an unputdownable book. I could easily see myself rereading this one in a few years.
  • This book caused me to think about the impact the media has on crimes. The court of public opinion is a scary thing.

What I didn’t Like:  I got nothing…I tried to think of a negative for this book but I truly loved it all.

My Rating: Without a doubt, this was a 5 star book. Definitely worth picking up!

Leave a Reply

