Snowblind by Christopher Golden Review

snowblindHere in Pennsylvania, we tend to get a lot of snow and I love it. I always try to read a “wintry” story at least once during the winter and this was a perfect book to read.

Genre: Horror, Adult Fiction, Thriller

Judging the Cover: I love this cover! It really conveys the feeling of winter and it even has a bit of texture to represent the ice on the trees.

Plot from Goodreads: The small New England town of Coventry had weathered a thousand blizzards…but never one like this. Icy figures danced in the wind and gazed through children’s windows with soul-chilling eyes. People wandered into the whiteout and were never seen again. Families were torn apart, and the town would never be the same.
Now, as a new storm approaches twelve years later, the folks of Coventry are haunted by the memories of that dreadful blizzard and those who were lost in the snow. As old ghosts trickle back, this new storm will prove to be even more terrifying than the last.

My Thoughts: I am not always a fan of stories with paranormal elements but I really enjoyed this one. Each character was interesting and the plot was very interesting. There were times when I was genuinely feeling scared and had to put the book down for a while (especially when I was reading it at night). Definitely worth the read.

The Good: This story had a great atmosphere. The town of Coventry was a place that felt familiar. The characters were all well developed and I was interested in each of their stories. There were some very scary parts in this book and it takes a lot for a book to scare me.

The Not So Good: The ending left me with a few unanswered questions and I would have loved an epilogue to wrap things up.

My Rating: This was a solid 4 star book for me…it wasn’t “unputdownable” but it was highly enjoyable. Definitely recommended for fans of a good ghost story.

Leave a Reply

