Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins review

6936382So after reading some dark and disturbing books, I knew that it was time for me to pick up something sugary and sweet. Enter Anna and The French Kiss.

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Romance

Judging the Cover: I think I’m in the minority based on what I’ve heard, but I really like this cover. I love the font used, the colors,  and the blurred image of the Eiffel Tower in the background. I do think it would have been better if “Anna’s” face was cropped off and only their shoulders and arms were visible. I own the paperback copy and it even has french flaps with scalloped edges…so cute!

Plot: Anna’s dad is making her attend a boarding school for Americans in Paris for her senior year of high school. When Anna arrives, she makes friends and meets a dreamy boy named Etienne St. Clair. The only problem is….Etienne has a girlfriend.

My thoughts: I have mixed feelings about this book. It is a very fun and entertaining story but the cheating aspect of it is disappointing.

The good: The writing style is excellent, it is a very quick and easy read. Anna was a likeable character and it was fun seeing Paris through her eyes. I was so thankful for the absence of insta-love in this story. The romance develops VERY slowly and I appreciate that. Anna and Etienne develop a great friendship throughout the book and it evoked memories of high school and the excitement of being with someone who makes your heart flutter. There were a few twists and surprises that I didn’t see coming, which made the story more interesting.

The bad: Cheating. I strongly believe that even developing an emotional relationship with someone can be cheating and that is what occurred in this book. It was clear from early on that Etienne and Anna had feelings for each other and at that point, Etienne should have ended his relationship. It just seems to send the wrong message to teenage girls.

My rating: I had a lot of trouble rating this book as I found it very entertaining and fun but I had some issues with it, so I came to the rating of 3/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a cute, lighthearted contemporary read.

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins review

Leave a Reply

