Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith Review

lockdownThe Plot from Goodreads: Furnace Penitentiary: An underground hellhole. A place of pure evil with walls soaked in blood. Murderous gangs and vicious guards rule the darkness. Horrific creatures steal people away in the dead of night. And the impossible – escape – is the only hope.

Genre: Young adult, Horror, Science Fiction

Series: This is book 1 of a 5 book series

My Thoughts: I would NEVER want to go to Furnace! The story is about Alex, who has been sent to Furnace, an underground prison for teenage boys. He meets his new roommate, Donovan and makes a friend named Zee. Things at Furnace are very hard and scary. Survival is not easy.

The good: The author’s descriptions are very detailed so that the reader is able to very clearly see Furnace. The story had action non-stop from the first page to the last. The pacing is great and the writing style is very easy to get into.

The Not So Good: The book has a lot of unanswered questions but it is book 1 of a 5 book series so I’m sure everything will be resolved eventually. I didn’t feel like I got to know the characters as much as I would have liked. The main character, Alex, drove me crazy with some of his choices.  The book ended with a huge cliffhanger, which may be a negative for some people but I’m planning on reading the second book soon, so it’s not really a negative for me.

My rating: 4/5 stars. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a creepy story that is a bit bizarre.

2 thoughts on “Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith Review

Leave a Reply

