Hades by Candice Fox Review

hadesI received an e-arc of this book from Netgalley.

Genre: Adult crime fiction

The plot from Goodreads: A serial killer is at large and he has found a way to gain something from the murders. Frank Bennett is starting a new job as a homicide detective and he and his new partner, Eden Archer are on the case. There is something mysterious about Eden and her brother Eric as Frank quickly begins to realize.

My thoughts: This is one of those books that is best to go into without knowing a lot. The story is complex and it jumps between past and present. It has mystery, suspense, and a bit of romance. There are some moments that were similar to the Dexter television series…if you like Dexter, chances are that you would love this. There are some graphic scenes so it may not be for everyone.

The good: This was what I would classify as an “unputdownable” book and I found myself thinking about the story when I wasn’t able to read it. I loved the serial killer storyline and was very interested in the reasons that the murders were occurring. It was an interesting and thought provoking look at what people would do out of desperation. I really liked the characters in the story, they felt very real and were well developed. I also loved the writing style…the pacing was great and it was a very easy story to slip into.

The Not So Good: The only thing that I disliked about the book was the romance angle…I felt like it was forced and had an insta-love feel to it. It just didn’t seem necessary to the plot.

My rating: I gave this book 4 1/2 stars and would absolutely recommend this to anyone who loves mystery and suspense stories.

Leave a Reply

